Domestic Violence Laws: PA vs. NJ

Common Law

During my time at Rutgers School of Law-Camden, I was very active in the Domestic Violence Project and the Domestic Violence Clinic. I provided legal information to victims of domestic violence in Camden County, NJ who were trying to obtain a Final Restraining Order (FRO) and  represented clients in their court hearings. I quickly became used to New Jersey’s DV law and the protections it gave to victims. Having had personal experience with Pennsylvania’s DV system, I already knew that their protections were inferior to NJ. I never realized how inferior until I returned to PA.

I’m going to focus on final orders in this post. In NJ, when a person wants to get protection from somebody who is abusing them, they obtain an FRO. The PA equivalent of this is a Protection From Abuse order, or PFA. Each state has their own statute that specifically addresses what someone…

View original post 806 more words

Leave a Reply

